DescriptionComprising: Doncaster Divisional Labour Party annual reports 1921-1946; minutes of committees 1920-1948; register of members 1920-1925; accounts 1929-1945; Doncaster Borough Labour Party: annual reports 1925-1932; minutes of committees 1920-1932; Doncaster Constituency Labour Party: minutes of committees 1948-1969; minutes of the Doncaster County Borough Council Labour group 1939-1974; accounts, 1929-1970; ward minutes, 1930-1973
Extent12 boxes
0.192 cubic metres
Access StatusOpen
AdminHistoryThe Doncaster Constituency Labour Party was established in September 1948 on the creation of the Doncaster Borough constituency by the Representation of the People Act, 1948. Previously, Doncaster had formed part of the Doncaster Parliamentary Division of the West Riding of Yorkshire. Before September 1948 there were two local Labour party organisations, the Divisional Labour Party, established in 1919 and the Doncaster Borough Labour Party, created in 1925. The former decided to disband once the provisions of the 1948 Act became law, for the new Borough constituency comprised the area of the County Borough of Doncaster alone. The area of the Urban Districts of Adwick le Street and Bentley with Arksey, formerly in the Doncaster Parliamentary Division, were transferred to the Don Valley Parliamentary Division.
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021