Ref NoGB-110/JES/ADD/54
TitleThomas Marsham, London, to James Edward Smith, a la croix de fer, Rue St Denis, Paris, [France]
DescriptionReceived Smith's letter of 8 [September 1786]. Recovering from a sprained ankle. Gratified by Smith's attention to "the New Society" [Linnean Society], but wishes to continue in the old Society [Society for the Promotion of Natural History] until at least their Anniversary meeting, as he is one of the Presidents until that time; will ensure Smith is not elected one. Unable to see Sir Joseph Banks until November.

Pleased to hear of Smith's intended trip to Italy; laments the loss of his Latin and inability to speak French, hopes to rectify this one day. Received samples of [Thomas] Martyn's projected work on insects ["The English entomologist" (1792)], on which he has offered his assistance; as Martyn is not an entomologist and will not be describing insects it will not affect his own projected work ["Entomologia Britannica" (1802)]. Requests a good print of Linnaeus. Requests any new edition of [Giovanni] Scopoli's work. Would like to see Smith's interview with [Lazzaro] Spallanzani's [(1729-1799), natural historian] following publication of his treatise [Smith's translation of Linnaeus' "A dissertation on the sexes of plantson dispute" (1786)]. Death of [Henry] Smeathman [(1742-1786), explorer and entomologist] of a putrid fever. Requests specimens of English 'Lepidoptera'.
Date21 Sep 1786
LevelItem
Extent4 pp
LanguageEnglish
Related MaterialMartyn, T, (1792). "The English entomologist, exhibiting all the coleopterous insects found in England...arranged and named according to the Linnean system." London: [privately].

Marsham, T, "Entomologia Britannica", London: White (1802).

Linnaeus, C, and Smith, J E (tr.), (1786). "A dissertation on the sexes of plants. Translated from the Latin of Linnaeus." London: George Nicol for the Author.
NotesSmith replied 2 Feb 1787
PrevRefNo75
Finding_AidsHutt, C M, "List of additional correspondence of Sir James Edward Smith" Linnean Society.
Persons
CodePersonNameDates
GB/110/1/17Marsham; Thomas (? 1747-1819); entomolgist? 1747-1819
GB/110/1/9Banks; Sir; Joseph (1743-1820); Baronet; Naturalist and patron of science1743-1820
GB/110/1/147Martyn; Thomas (1735-1825); botanist1735-1825
GB/110/1/194Scopoli; Giovanni Antonio (1723-1788); physician and naturalist1723-1788
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022