TitleSheffield and District Region Joint Town Planning Advisory Committee
AdminHistoryOn the 7th July 1927 a Conference of Local Authorities was held at the Town Hall, Sheffield with a view to the formation of a Regional Town Planning Committee to comprise of Sheffield City Council, Barnsley County Borough, Bolton on Dearne, Cudworth, Darfield, Darton, Denby and Cumberworth, Dodworth, Gunthwaite and Ingbirchworth, Hemsworth, Hoyland Nether Hoyland Swaine, Penistone, Royston, Skelmanthorpe, Stocksbridge, Thurlstone, Thurnscoe, Wombwell, Worsbrorough urban district councils, and Barnsley, Hemsworth, Penistone and Wortley rural district councils.

The Committee's functions were: (i) to advise in the promotion, co-ordination, and linking-up of Town Planning Schemes; (ii) if considered necessary by the Committee, to prepare, in broad outline, a Regional Town Plan; (iii) to consider and make suggestions of recommendations on any matter relating to effective town or regional planning or development; and (iv) to make suggestions and recommendations to any Government. Department or Local Authority on any matter coming within the scope of the Committee's authority.

Further invitations to joint the Committee were accepted by Pontefract Borough Council, Castleford, Featherstone, Knottingley and Whitwood urban district councils and Pontefract rural district council.

Professor Patrick Abercrombie was invited to prepare the Regional Report and Plan.

A Technical Sub Committee of the Surveyors of Local Authorities was formed to assist the Committee and Abercrombie in the preparation of the Report.

The Report was submitted to the Committee on 12 Dec 1930, which approved it and ordered it to be published.
Date1927 - 1948
Extent6 items
RelatedMaterialP. Abercrombie, et aI., Sheffield and District Regional Planning Scheme, (Liverpool and London, 1931) (Sheffield Local Studies Library: 914.274 SQ)
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024