Alternative Reference numberCYC1
TitleSheffield County Court
AdminHistorySheffield County Court was established under the County Courts Act, 1846. This Act provided a system of courts capable of dealing with civil actions involving small claims (the upper limit was originally fixed at £20). The jurisdiction of county courts was and is limited to actions under statutory law and to the geographical area covered by the county court district. There must be some connection between the action and the county court district in which it is tried.

The records listed below relate to cases concerning divorce, compensation for industrial injury, bankruptcy and equitable proceedings. Some of the records were initially deposited in the Public Record Office and were transferred to Sheffield Record Office under schedule 4(1) of the Public Records Act, 1958. Where this is the case, the former PRO reference numbers have been added to the description.

Bankruptcy - County Courts were given responsibility for dealing with bankruptcy in 1869. Records relating to bankruptcy other than those listed below may be available at the National Archives in classes B and BT.

County Courts did not deal with divorce cases until the 1960s. Records of divorce prior to this date are held at the National Archives (class J).

County Courts still exist today and continue to hear cases related to claims over contracts, accidents, property and land disputes, bankruptcy and divorce etc.
DescriptionJudge's notebooks, 1955 - 1958 (CYC/1)
Judge's notebooks (divorce cases), 1955 - 1958 (CYC/2)
Registrar's notebooks, 1937 - 1958 (CYC/3)
Ordinary summons, plaint and minute books, 1919 - 1949 (CYC/4)
Workmen's compensation registers, 1900 - 1951 (CYC/5)
Awards or agreements in proceedings under the 1899 - 1954 Workmen's Compensation Acts, 1899 - 1954 (CYC/6)
Refractories Industries (Silicosis) Scheme 1919 Sheffield Silicosis Joint Committee minute book, 1926 - 1935 (CYC/7):
Bankruptcy Registers, 1884 - 1898 (CYC/8)
Bankruptcy Registers of Petitions, 1898 - 1925 (CYC/9) (see also CYC/11)
Bankruptcy Registers of Receiving Orders, 1898 - 1925 (CYC/10) (see also CYC/11)
Registers of Petitions and Receiving orders, 1926 - 1950 (CYC/11)
Bankruptcy files, 1932 - 1940 (CYC/12)
Case papers: equitable proceedings, 1873 - 1921 (CYC/13)
Date1873 - 1958
Extent76 items
AccessConditionsThese items are exempt under the terms of the Freedom of Information Act for a period of 30 years.
RelatedMaterialA History of the County Court, 1846-1971 by Patrick Polden (Cambridge University Press, 1999) (ISBN-13: 9780521622325)
CustodialHistoryThese items were deposited in Sheffield Archives under Section 4(1) of the Public Records Act, 1958.
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024